Grower’s Market

With as many times as I’ve moved in the last couple of years, you would think I could just jump right into a new place. This, though, doesn’t happen very easily. Even when I moved to Eugene, the city that came to feel more like home than any other place I’ve lived, I fought settling in there, too. So, it’s really no surprise that nearly a year after living in Albuquerque, I’m just now starting to feel like I could possibly grow some roots here. I lamented to Russ that this city was so spread out, was too beige, and just didn’t feel like it had the community that I look for in somewhere I want to settle. (I still don’t have many friends here). He said that he was pretty certain there were parts that I would adore and so we took a drive that same night.

He drove me through Corrales and, it’s true, my heart was happy to see little woo woo shops, local restaurants with live music on a sultry evening, and quite a bit more green than I see on any given day. I felt a little tug inside telling me that I had to just let go and allow myself to look for new things just like I did in Eugene. On our drive I saw a sign for a weekly grower’s market. What? There is fresh, local produce sold every week in a 5 minute drive from where I live? How did I not know about this? So, we made a point to go Sunday morning.

We had a bit of brunch before hitting the market. Who knew that a homemade biscuit and jam would be the size of my head?

I'll need a to go box, please.

We each ordered one of those. I guess the $5 price tag should have tipped us off, but it was early and we were hungry and just not really thinking straight. I mean, $5 for a biscuit better be one damn good biscuit.

Here’s a hungry Russ:

Soooo hungry!

And I’ll be a good sport and post a picture of me (begrudgingly!):

No comment. 😛

After we boxed up biscuits and the rest of our breakfasts that were too big for us to finish, we headed to the market!

Yay! Some color!

I was so happy to see all the booths with local goodies. Oh, and the overcast skies made for a cooler morning and some lovely rainfall later that night that left Russ peeking out the window every half hour smiling and saying “It’s still raining!”

Where do I start?!

Music filled the air and fresh watermelon juice filled our tummies:

I'm a sucker for the accordion!

Mmmmm, slurp!

We made the rounds before we made our purchases. Sunday is grocery shopping day and we were happy to buy some items there than at Whole Foods. Next week I’m definitely going to be bringing home some of these!

Just pretty.

But we were pretty happy with all the loot we made out with that morning:

Fresh bread, baby plums, fresh basil and sweet corn!

So, while it’s just one small market — one small community event — maybe I could get used to this. With more changes ahead for the Flints, I guess you never know. 😀

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Grower’s Market

  1. Gato

    Wow!

    Looks like a real nice to hang out.
    The scenery is just suuuuper.

  2. Aw. Hugs Woz – I hope this place starts to feel more and more like home to you every day. It looks like you found a great little spot though, baby steps!

    And oh. my. lord. That biscuit is flippin huge.

Leave a Reply

