The Whirlwind

I can’t believe Woztober is already half over. How on Earth did that happen? Needless to say, it’s already been a great month.

We started off the month in New England. While the occasion was one that was sad, I found a lot of happiness in that trip. I got to hear my father-in-law pay a moving tribute to his father (someone I would have loved to meet), visited the place where my sweetheart of a husband grew up, and had my very first cider donut. (Ask Russ how many HE ate! πŸ˜‰ )

Sadly, I forgot my camera and we had to buy a little disposable jobby on our way into Brattleboro, VT. It LOOKED like a perfectly good camera but when I took it to get developed here they seemed sort of shocked. “We didn’t sell you this camera did we?” Turns out it was a wee bit old and our pictures didn’t turn out the best. 😦 We aren’t too worried, though, because we know we’ll visit again when The Dot is a few years old so daddy can show him/her around. πŸ˜€ Here are Russ’ favorite from our trip:

 

Brattleboro Common

 

 

Harrisville Pond -- Russ spent many a summer here.

 

 

Dummerston Covered Bridge

 

 

Flint feet surrounded by New England's Fall colors. So pretty!

 

After our ridiculously long day of traveling back to ABQ, we had one day to recover (not enough!) and were back to work on Monday. Only for that day though because we had visitors to pick up from the airport that night. πŸ˜€ The whirlwind continued with my family in town and all the things we wanted to show them.

After the fam went on their first hot air balloon ride ever that morning, Papo said he wanted to eat in little “hole in the wall” places with good food. We knew exactly where to go. Here are the boys after grubbing at Bobcat Ranch in Santa Fe.

 

Handsome!

 

With it being Balloon Fiesta, we were up EARLY the next morning to view the Mass Ascension. It was worth getting up to see!

 

What a sunrise.

 

 

The Kangaroos made me giggle!

 

 

This is how they make honey, I think. πŸ˜‰

 

 

Russ' favorite of the day.

 

The next day we headed up to Sandia Peak. It was about 49 degrees on the mountain but with the sun shining bright, it was actually pretty warm.

 

We were headed up there.

 

 

Heading up the mountain!

 

 

Everything looks perfect from far away.

 

 

We made it!

 

 

The whole gang's here!

 

And of course, it wouldn’t have been a get together without this one:

 

Sandia Peak Feet!

 

So that’s where it went! πŸ˜€ What a whirlwind indeed.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Whirlwind

  1. amanda

    what amazing pictures!! πŸ™‚

  2. Great pics, especially the ones of Vt (I am biased). Made me miss it, especially this time of the year.

  3. Liene

    I am super late to this game, but BRATTLEBORO! (I went to college at Marlboro.) Love that place. (Although if I remember correctly, that bridge was the one that came down in the storms this year. 😦 ) I miss Vermont tons every autumn now.

Leave a Reply

